Latest news from Balliol

Friday 22 July

Professor Lyndal Roper, who takes up the Regius Chair of Modern History in October, and Professor Andrew Hurrell, Montague Burton Professor of International Relations at Balliol, have been elected Fellows of the British Academy.

Thursday 14 July

The library will be closed from 5pm on Friday 19 August to 9am on Monday 5 September. Apologies for any inconvenience.

Tuesday 28 June

The Master and Fellows regret to announce the death on 26 June 2011 of the Right Honourable the Lord Rodger of Earlsferry, QC, PC, FRSE.


Monday 20 June

Jonathon Penn<span style=”line-height: 0; display: none;”></span>ey, a doctoral student at Balliol<span style=”line-height: 0; display: none;”></span>, won t<span style=”line-height: 0; display: none;”></span>he 2011 <span style=”line-height: 0; display: none;”><span style=”line-height: 0; display: none;”><span style=”line-height: 0; display: none;”></span></span></span>Peter Oliver Prize in Canadian Legal History<span style=”line-height: 0; display: none;”></span>. <span style=”line-height: 0; display: none;”></span><span style=”line-height: 0; display: none;”></span><span style=”line-height: 0; display: none;”></span>

Monday 20 June

Ravi Shanmugam (2010) part of winning team at the annual Varsity Chess Match.

Wednesday 8 June

Bill Drayton honoured by the Fundacion Principe de Asturias

Monday 6 June

Balliol’s Women’s First Eight fought off a strong challenge, and an objection, to keep their Headship on the last day of Eights Week.

Saturday 28 May

The College regrets to announce the death, on Saturday 28 May 2011, of Dr Ann McPherson, GP, health campaigner, and best-selling author.


Thursday 19 May

<span style=”font-family: Arial; font-size: x-small;”><span style=”font-family: Arial; font-size: 10pt;”>Mr Martin Burton, Balliol Clinical Lecturer, is the first practicing clinician to be appointed in the role of Director of the UK Cochrane Centre. </span></span>

Thursday 19 May

The College congratulates three Old Members who have been elected Fellows of the Royal Society.