Agreement for Oxford chemistry group signed at Balliol

Tuesday 11 June 2019

On 4 June 2019 a new seven-year agreement for the SCG-Oxford Centre of Excellence for Chemistry (CoE) was signed in the Old Common Room at Balliol at a ceremony officiated by HE Pisanu Suvanajata (Ambassador of Thailand), Dame Helen Ghosh (Master of Balliol) and Professor Louise Richardson (Vice-Chancellor of Oxford University). The agreement, between the Department of Chemistry and SCG (the Siam Cement Group), was signed by Khun Cholanat Yanaranop and Dr Dan Blakey.

Founded by Professor Dermot O’Hare (Balliol 1978, SCG Fellow and Tutor in Inorganic Chemistry), the CoE is a collaboration between SCG and the University of Oxford, which has dedicated laboratories in the Department of Chemistry. The main objective of the CoE is to act as a hub for academic/industry collaboration as well as delivering new innovation to SCG and impact at academic level. It focuses on the research and development in the area of nanomaterials (production of very high surface compounds for applications in catalysis, packaging and automotive, and catalysis), synthesis and characterisation of organometallic molecules for olefin polymerisation (more information on the CoE’s research here). Professor Dermot O’Hare, FRSC, serves as the Director and Dr Suracha Udomsak (SCG) is the co-director.  

The CoE has also recently been named winner of the Industry-Academia Collaboration Award by the Royal Society of Chemistry. The CoE won the award for creating a unique and long-standing collaboration bringing benefits to chemical science.

Below, left to right: Khun Cholanat Yanaranop, Professor Louise Richardson, HE Pisanu Suvanajata, Professor Dermot O’Hare, Dame Helen Ghosh (photo: Melisa Holloway).

Signing of CoE agreement June 2019 (photo: Melisa Holloway)