Balliol College Hockey Club wins Cuppers 2017

Monday 24 April

Balliol Mixed Hockey Cuppers winners 2017

Many congratulations to the Balliol College Hockey Club on winning hockey Cuppers 2017, beating Worcester College in the final on penalty flicks. ‘It was an enormous achievement, given the opposing team had a great deal of Blues players,’ says Benedict Simon, who describes the exciting game:

‘Our team were lead 3-0 early doors and and the half-time score was 3-2. Worcester then scored 2 more goals. pulling themselves into the lead: 3-4. With a goal from a short corner in the closing minutes of the game from Balliol, the scores were tied 4-4 at full time. 

‘Penalty flicks followed and the first goal was saved by Balliol’s keeper giving us an early advantage. Following flicks were all successful until Worcester’s final flick which went wide of the bottom left corner. Balliol win!’ 

The winning team, above, who will celebrate in traditional fashion at a formal Hall on the College, were (left to right):

Top row: Rohan Mandumula, Nathan White, Julius Hillebrand, Ben Simon, Ali Nicklin (captain), Alex Copestake, Tom Williams, Tom Barrett, Jonathan Martin

Bottom row: Cealach McKeating, Daisy Cutts, Nicola Dwornik, Aihem Johar, Julia Davis, Chris Sayers, Tom Foster.