Moritz-Heyman Scholarship

A University programme of enhanced support to a limited number of new UK undergraduate students from a low-income background. The programme provides additional funding, opportunities to take part in volunteering activities, and the opportunity to access at least one internship during the summer vacations.

Type of award: 
Welfare and hardship
Eligibility or selection criteria: 

Only new first-year Oxford undergraduates are eligible and all of the following will be taken into account in selecting students:

  • household income: only UK-resident students from households with incomes of £16,000 or less are eligible (as assessed by their funding agency)
  • rate of participation in higher education in the postcode where the student lives
  • socio-economic indicators in the post code where the student lives
  • their school’s average attainment at GCSE and A-level
  • their school’s history of sending students to Oxford
  • Care Leavers.

All subjects are eligible, but greater weighting is given in the selection process to students studying subjects in the areas of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM). Students undertaking a second undergraduate degree will not be eligible.

Amount awarded: 

 If selected, you will benefit from:

  • bursaries for each year of your course for living costs
  • a £3,000 reduction in your fee for each year of your course
  • access to support in identifying opportunities for work experience or internships
  • access to a bursary to support work experience or internships.
How and when to apply: 

You do not need to apply. From mid-September each year, eligible new first-year students will be invited to become Moritz-Heyman Scholars. Up to 175 students will be selected in the following autumn.

Further information: 

If you require further information on the Moritz-Heyman Scholarship Programme, please contact the Moritz-Heyman Scholarship team.


Funding source(s): 

The Scholarship is funded by a generous donation by Sir Michael Moritz and Ms Harriet Heyman.